Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays exams are fundamentally important in any curriculum and it is becoming a topic of debate recently, whether it is important or not. However, while many advocates that exams create more pressure on students, I side with those who believe exams are one of the ways to assess their ability. On one hand, it could be argued that exams put children under pressure and you cannot find out the actual abilities because it affects mental stress. Many students are in a stressful situation at examination time and if some students fail in their exams, they take very hard steps like suicide. For instance, in a recent study in India claim that 20% of students take their life if they fail in exams. Hence, supporters of this claim that exams should not be mandatory. Moreover, theoretical knowledge are not that important in life On the other hand, I hold the opinion that exams are very important to assess the ability of any student. I believe that it is a good way to know what students learn in their academic year and what they understood in class which will be helpful further in their life. Take mathematics as an example, if young students know the basics of subjects, it will be easy for them to understand in higher studies. Thus, in my opinion, exams are a good way to assess the knowledge of students. To conclude, although many young students feel pressure of the examination, with constant effort, students can pass the exams. Exams are one way to know their knowledge and what they learn. Therefore, on balance, I believe that exams are necessary to assess their overall ability.