Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of languages go into extinction yearly. Some people hold the view that it does not matter as it is better to have limited languages worldwide. In my opinion, I believe that languages should be preserved. Firstly, Language, like culture, is peculiar to different groups of people all over the planet. In itself, it is rich and it portrays the culture and style of a community. It could also be artistic in nature. The history and challenges a group of people have passed through could be inferred from their way of speaking. Usually, languages have different tones and inflections which further make the origin of the speaker traceable. Secondly, different languages create diversity and heterogeneous societies that make the world interesting. The fact that people from different parts of the globe are not able to understand one another makes people study different ways of communication with a view to gaining understanding and fostering unity. For example, we have people from different parts of the world where English or any other language is spoken go to Universities or Colleges to study languages different from theirs. Lastly, the language makes people have a sense of belonging. This gives an identity to a group of people with a common tongue as against having few homogeneous languages which could make people feel like they are part of a multitude without a sense of fitting or connection to a locally identifiable group. In conclusion, languages could be powerful forces that promote peace and unity within smaller communities. Diverse languages should be kept alive, as they add colour and meaning to life. Else, the world would be homogeneous, but boring and lacklustre