Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

These days people enjoy living a luxurious life. On account of this, owning expensive vehicles has increased in many places around the globe, resulting in a traffic chaos. This essay completely agrees with the former statement. The below paragraphs will discuss the causes followed by relevant actions authorities can take to minimize this issue. To begin with, the bank provides a hassle free loan process for the individuals who wish to purchase a car. Easy availability of loan at a low rate of interest, encourages people to buy four wheeler. Second, many people buy cars not as a necessity, but as a style statement and status symbol. For instance, high profile people generally, gift expensive cars on occasions like weddings and birthdays. However, there are few effective measures governments can take to reduce the use of cars. If higher authorities instruct banks to implement strict regulations and verification process while sanctioning a vehicle loan, then individuals might think twice before applying for one. Also, the public transport can be made cheaper. This way more citizens would consider travelling on a budgeted commute rather than an expensive automobile. For example, lowering ticket prices of railways in India has increased travel from trains by 30%. In conclusion, traffic jam remains a major issue in many countries because of people's preferences and high profile lifestyle. On the contrary, constructive steps taken by the government would surely result in bringing a positive impact.