Some people think that schools should reward students with the best academic results, while others believe it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided as to how schools should use their rewards to encourage their students. Many argue that students who show the best academic performance should be rewarded; others, however, maintain that it is better to give prizes to those who exhibit improvement. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and show why I favour the latter. On the one hand, it is understandable why some believe that credit should be given to students who achieved the best grades. Their rationale is that these students deserve praise and compliments for the efforts they have put and what they have attained. This form of encouragement seems even more sensible when teachers help their students understand that this situation resembles the real life where only people who excel in their field can secure a decent job. However, the elite students may become complacent and do not see the need to improve themselves if they always top the class. This is possible when other students feel they cannot compete with them after failing to do so for several times. Therefore, this rewarding scheme can be counterproductive. On the other hand, I believe that it is for the best to reward students who strive to improve their academic performance. One reason for this is that such an incentive can motivate both excellent and average students to try constantly, regardless of how they have been performing. With regard to the former, this can drive them to compete with themselves, which can result in them performing even better. As for the latter, this can arouse/kindle their interest in studying, gradually enhancing their grades. In addition, the burden on teachers can be shared when most of their students choose to attempt for the rewards and then improve academically, and in the long run, this would improve the overall educational outcomes. In conclusion, although it is justifiable to only reward top students, I believe that schools should reward those who show signs of improvement as all students would be motivated to apply themselves, which ultimately brings desirable results.