Nowadays people have many consumer goods in their homes such as refrigerator, washing machines. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, every home we can see the latest electronic appliances such as refrigerator, washing machines and mixer grinder. In my opinion, this is a positive development as it saves time a lot than earlier, but such appliances consume a lot amount of electricity which is a negative development. On the one hand, using many consumer goods brings a lot of benefits, but one of them is it saves time, which I believe is a positive trend to a certain extent. To elucidate, last 2-3 decades, all women were using their hands for washing the clothes and used to buy vegetables on the daily basis, that was a time -consuming process, and resulting in them not to have time for doing any other activities like going out for dinner or watching a movie in the theatre. However, these days, we have such electrical goods in each house, and people are taking advantage of these goods, such as keeping vegetables and dairy products in the fridge and washing their clothes in less than 30 minutes. This has resulted in saving their precious time and many of them could concentrate on their other household chores and other activities. On the other hand, the reason why I think that this is a negative trend because such consumer goods consume a great amount of electricity. It is true that the earth’s temperature is rising on a daily basis due to over consumption of fossil fuels. Therefore, such goods use a lot of electricity and create pollution in the atmosphere. For example, the Electricity Department of India reported that there is an increase in the amount of electricity bill than last decade because 85% of houses have washing machines, fridge and air conditioner at home that consumes more electricity than other electrical goods available. In conclusion, I think that although having electrical goods in each home these days is a positive influence as it has saved our time to use for other activities, an increase in the pollution level by consuming more units of electricity is a negative influence.