Nowadays people have many consumer goods in their homes such as refrigerator, washing machines. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is undeniably true that development in technology has made peoples’ lives easier than in the past. In my opinion, consumer goods like washing machine and refrigerator have both positive and negative influences on people as it saves time, but it consumes a large proportion of electricity. On the one hand, saving time is the significant reason why I think having consumer goods at home is a positive trend to some extent. These days, spouses are working to obtain a good standard of living, so having worked the whole day, they are less inclined to cook a fresh meal in the evening due to tiredness. Therefore, they usually tend to cook food in the morning and store it in the fridge in order not to spoil and keep it fresh for a longer time. This results in them, saving time from preparing meal again and being able to consume food that kept in the fridge. Moreover, the washing machine is an important appliance in our lives. In the past, clothes were washed by hand, and it took a lot of time, particularly in winter, which used to take 2-3 days to dry clothes due to lack of sunlight. However, today we have a dryer in the washing machine which helps to wash and dry clothes easily and less than 30 minutes. Consequently, time can be saved. On the other hand, this trend is a negative development to a certain extent as these appliances run on electricity. To elucidate, generating of electricity requires the burning of fossil fuels, which release carbon dioxide in the atmosphere to a large proportion. Hence, it increases the earth’s temperature and causes global warming, which is the biggest threat to all human beings living in the 21st century. For example, news from the Economic Times on January 2020 reported that 65% of electricity is consumed by home appliances and this has resulted in a rise in earth’s temperature by 1-2%. In conclusion, although refrigerator and washing machines and other home appliances have made life easier by saving a lot of time, releasing the hazardous pollutants in the atmosphere leads to global warming and this is an inevitable negative influence on peoples’ lives.