Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

When Apple's CEO Steve Job did his product launch presentations, black tees and jeans were what he wore. Many companies nowadays value employees' competency higher than image, while some companies still have policies to make sure their staffs dress decently. This essay will discuss both views and explain companies ought to allow flexibility for staffs to dress what they think is appropriate. Many believe that first impression is important for building relationships. What you dress reflect your personality and how do you evaluate the people you meet and the activities you engage. In fact, if you work in a conventional customer service environment, you should dress nicely, at least more decent than your customers do, in order to show your respect to them. A receptionist of a company, for example, often is the first person that visitors meet and talk with when they visit the company. A nicely dressed receptionist definitely project a proper image of a company to strangers. Therefore, it is understandable why many companies have rules of dress for staffs to follow. On the other hand, some companies, particularly those feature innovations, do not force their staffs to dress in a certain way. Instead, workers are allowed to choose how to dress according to their preference, mood and personality. The reason is that these companies believe less constrains will result in more creativities. Therefore there are a lot of technology companies ' staffs in Facebook, Netflix and Apple, etc do not dress or project image like bankers, accountants or hotel managers: men always wear suits, women always in high heels. In contrary, many staffs working for tech companies wearing jeans and sneakers, and even shorts in summer. Obviously, creativities and skills are valued relevantly higher than appearance in these companies. To conclude, I believe performance of staffs is more important than what they wear during working hours. However, if their role has a need to due with customers or clients face-to-face, it is also necessary to dress socially acceptable to show one's respect. Therefore, I think companies should set some guidelines of dress code according to their business and staffs' role nature. Allowing some flexibility for staffs to choose what to wear in the workplace, is one of many ways to promote pleasant working ambience. Ultimately, elevates staffs' creativities and productivities which benefit their companies.