In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

In many parts of our planet, crime is increasing day by day and they are becoming more vicious. In this essay I would like to express my point of view on what is the cause and what can be done to overcome it with relevant examples. Firstly, Our planet is highly populated and in some countries, If someone did a minor crime, he would be punished and sent to jail for a long time. I believe this is where it all goes wrong, as the person who did small crime he would be staying with criminals who have done serious crime, due to the environment new criminals are born and when they get out of jail they tend to do bigger crimes. For instance, Person who stole something in his life for the first time, maybe because of being helpless, by punishing him and putting him in jail with criminals who are terrorist or who killed someone will change their mind and when they come out of jail instead of feeling guilty they are doing more crimes. Secondly, I believe that all criminals should be punished, but as there is saying" there should be a Second chance " to such minor crimes who did it just because they didn't have another choice for survive, I think they should be punished by giving them community work, this will kill two birds with one stone, as firstly they will learn their lesson and their carrier record won't be that much affected as compared to going in prison. Secondly, they will learn new skills which can help them after this finish their punishment to start up a new life, and not only that as they will not be combined with other serious criminals, there will be less chance of new criminals will become. To summarize, I strongly agree that if someone did a crime they should be punished even without second thoughts, but we should not see all the criminals with the same eye. If we punish a person who is not even worth that punishment, then we don't teach them a lesson, but instead we encourage them to become bigger criminals. Not only that Government and Police Department should take steps to reduce such crimes by have more cameras around the city so they can quickly find out criminals and also face scanners so who all pass in front of them can be captured and they will know if they had any criminal record, which will help police to keep an eye on them, such ways and preoccupation can we taken to reduce crime.