A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the last decades, the way individuals are valued is thought to have changed from some qualities they showed as respectability to different aspects concerning their properties and social situation. This is undoubtedly a matter of debate and the question inevitably arises as to whether this judgment has transformed or not. Some people object to this opinion, arguing that some virtues are even now considered within modern society. They believe that some values, including politeness and honesty, still represent important characteristics that render a person esteemed. In other words, people take in serious consideration others’ behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour and tend to judge their worth based on how, for instance, they maintain promises or respect social rules. In this regard, it appears important to nurture similar qualities since they may be essential to gain social respect. However, other individuals believe that the way a person is valued has utterly changed leading to give more consideration to its position and goods. Those who support this view content that those assuming remarkable social roles are often thought to be creators of their success having reached substantial attainments. In their opinion, the status they achieve is just the reflection of their inherent worth and capabilities. Furthermore, they would argue that since many people attempt to imitate them, this illustrates which is esteemed these days. To sum up, although there is an ongoing discussion about which qualities are truly considered in recent times, those values representing a person’s behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour regarding other individuals are the most influential since they reflect what a person is and not what is around him.