Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

According to some people, students at the university should have the freedom to study any subjects they prefer. While others believe that Subjects like science and technology can be useful for them in future, hence these should be their only choice. In my opinion, university students are adults and they can make a better selection of the subjects of study so it should be their own choice. Some people argue that if the students at tertiary level education are permitted to study the subjects of their choice, it is highly likely that they will excel in the particular field. In other words, subjects which interests an individual will not look boring and he will enjoy studying them. For instance, many popular artists nowadays faced extensive opposition from their families while selecting acting or cinema as their subjects, but later on they proved themselves the best in their respective fields. The main reason behind their success was when they were studying, they felt like doing their pursuing their hobbies and consequently became the legends of art. On the other hand, another group of people argue that students should be forced to study the subjects that can prove useful to them in their lives like science and technology. They believe that this is the field which has maximum job opportunities and ensure their future employment with handsome salaries. In todays world, the main aim behind studying in schools, colleges and universities to have a safe future and that can only be ensured via stable job. The studying of science and technology increase the likelihood of getting an employment. They believe that even after eighteen years of studying one cannot earn or be the bread winner of family, the whole life in other words is wasted. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that students should be allowed to select the field or subject of their choice as they have to spend their entire life in that field.