It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Establishing a large public place outdoors such as parks and town squares seems only reasonable for those wealthier municipalities able to upgrade their image, but such a proposal in my opinion might not be applicable to other cities and towns. This essay will present some reasons to support my argument. One of the main ideas that some towns believe building such grand public spaces is for the pursuit of tourism. The city planners, often at the behest of developers and greedy construction interests will attempt to invest in these improvement schemes in the hopes of luring visitors and potential new residents. This often seems to be a shortsighted choice for imaginary economics with no guarantee that out of town visitors will in fact come and see the finish project. Granted, there may also be some minor benefits for local residents such as being able to practice in an expansive area and being able to socialize in a varied context in terms of new acquaintances in an open environment. Truthfully, most of these places are often abandoned and neglected. Next not all towns and cities are capable of transforming their public areas into such massive single use developments. To be more specific, the cost of establishing a gigantic public space is high. While local governments should consider the potential revenue from tourism, ultimately they need to focus on staying within their budgets for any public project. If the investment is far more than what could be afforded, then creating a huge garden or public square of some kind would only end up as an unfinished project. This came at the cost of rooting up many of the older residents at a higher payout from the taxpayers and left many of the plans on the drawing board as the majority of these construction plots simply ran out of city financing to be completed. In conclusion, I would continue to argue that this desire to improve a town or city by building a large public square or park may in fact be much more costly than expected compared to the little return in potential tourist revenue simply because the tourism market has shifted and these old ways of attracting people to a city are no longer valid.