Some people believe that living in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others believe that it is getting easier. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about living in large urban areas. While many people argue that it is getting increasingly problematic, I agree with those who think that living in such areas can be a wise choice. On the one hand, there are undoubtedly some disadvantages of residing in metropolises. To begin with, the large population puts excessive burden on traffic, with thousands of vehicles flooding the streets every day and creating long, seemingly endless congestion. For example, city dwellers at times have to spend hours on just a 10-kilometer commute. Along with private modes of transportation, industrial zones in big cities emit harmful emission into the air, responsible for the increasing levels of air contamination which cause people to be more susceptible to respiratory diseases. Another stressor that needs considering is the hugely expensive cost of living in metropolitan zones, where citizens have to pay for such expenses as food and housing at far higher prices in comparison with rural regions. On the other hand, there are powerful reasons why living in big cities is getting easier. This will be proven by looking at the growing number of people who migrate from rural areas to metropolitan regions in search of better employment opportunities every year. Containing various businesses in all fields and all sizes, those cities tend to offer higher salaries and wages for both manual workers and intellectual ones, not to mention that some careers such as biotechnology or nuclear energy can be found mostly in big cities. Large urban areas also open the door to better educational opportunities by offering a wider choice of prestigious universities with qualified teachers and improved facilities. Students are able to gain access to an unlimited source of study materials from public libraries, museums, industry experts and so on. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks, I think life in cities is getting easier and more comfortable.