The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity has become a severe problem throughout the globe, especially in the new generation of western countries. This essay will highlight the reason why it has occurred and examine the consequences of this worrying trend in following paragraphs. The prominent reason is poor diet. To elaborate, these days, most of the parents do not waste their precious time on cooking at home because the both are working. They generally order ready made food from restaurants for them and their children. These fast foods and restaurant food container oil, carbohydrates in excessive amount, which make them overweight than other require nutrients for children's development. Moreover, sedentary lifestyle also contributes to obesity in children. To explain, children prefer to play computer games instead of sports. They have to sit for longer hours in front of computers. Lack of movement or walk, lowers their digestive capacity. So, it makes them obese. Obesity has some serious effects. Firstly, it brings some other health related illnesses among children, particularly diabetes and heart diseases. Apart from this, it makes children more lazy and lethargic as fat converts their stamina into sleep. Furthermore, sometimes it disturbs some children mentally, because their friends pass few negative comments normally to an obese one. This bulling affects their mental health and they land up in depression. In conclusion, although obesity happens due to some reasons and has some serious adverse impacts, it can be mitigated with attention of children's parents towards their diet and lifestyle.