Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

What should be the true function of tertiary education is a debatable issue for so long. It is thought by some people that, university should prepare graduates for task specific work or provide education without concerning whether the course will be effective in the work place. This essay will discuss both views and opinion will be provided at the end. Competitions are increasing day by day, and nowadays, the majority of contemporary professions has now task specific which makes it necessary for workers to be able to comply with every task requirement. For instance, Companies are hiring candidate who has required knowledge and skills which are compatible with the vacancy and they are not interested to spend time or money for their employee training. The students don’t have to spend extra time to acquire those necessary efficiency if it is given by their respective academy. However, others hold different thought. Most of the students find it uncertain what profession they want themselves in until they are graduates so universities ought to focus on basic knowledge of the entire subject and let the students choose the job of their own interest. For example, course like computer engineering teaches about databases, programming language as well as hardware. It is up to a student to choose whether he wants to be a programmer or developer. To recapitulate, according to my opinion, I would say that the function of a is to university both prepare students for the workforce and provide knowledge and which one a person chooses should depend on their preference at the time..