Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development

Trend of use of other source of power, such as wind or solar power as compared to main source, such as fossil fuel is commonly observed among few countries. In my opinion, this is a positive development because of environmental and economical benefits. To begin with, Fossil fuel produces a lot of gas, like carbon di-oxide, which is detrimental for the environment, while other alternative sources of energy do not produce any of such things. Currently, we are facing various issues such as, climate change and global warming and needless to say burning fuels is one of the main reasons for this. We can save the earth via shifting to new sources of power. Secondly, only few countries in the world produce oil, while the rest all countries have to buy it from them, which cost millions of dollars. There are thousand of cars, buses, trucks, rails which use this fossil fuel. In contrast, if countries start using alternative sources of power, this can save all those amounts and they can use this to boost their economy. To exemplify, Country like India, which need millions of barrels each day and totally dependent on Arabic country to fulfil their needs, but it can save millions of dollars via shifting to solar energy. Finally, there is limited crude oil is available on earth and one day it will finish for sure. On the contrary, solar and wind energy is natural and will never finish. So, we can save these resources, which will never end and use fossil fuel wisely. To conclude, there are numerous disadvantages of petrol, coil and diesel. Although, natural resources do not have any negatives and some nations start using these now. With above statements, I can restate my opinion that, this is a positive development.