More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why?Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

In recent years, there are many young people from wealthy countries decide to spend a short time doing voluntary works in poor communities. Their decisions can be explained mostly by three reasons. First, it is apparent that almost all people do unpaid job for good intentions. Knowing that they have many advantages in life, young people in the developing world want to use their resources to improve the poorer’s living. Besides, travelling to other countries gives them valuable experiences and chances to explore new cultures. Last but not least, in a developed economy where the workforce is competitive, a well-rounded candidate is one with both professional knowledge and consideration of the growth of his society. Having voluntary activities on their resumes thus catalyses young people job offers from big companies or admissions to well-known business schools. In addition to benefits for younger people, the poor society also received lots of support. In fact, the benefit these activities bring to undeveloped countries, it's much greater than it seems to be. In the short term, the poor people are helped to build their houses and their children are well taught. Then, in the near future, the citizens in rich countries will have great power to make changes in the world. Clearly, their old experiences of undeveloped countries will make them feel more responsible for helping the poor. Also, their knowledge of poor societies also enables them to make plans that are actionable. To conclude, volunteer work in undeveloped countries is beneficial for both the rich and the poor. Indeed, these activities are essential for the sustainable growth of our world.