These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sport. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays children prefer playing video games to doing some sports in order to spend their leisure time. This is due to the factor that computer games give more mental pleasure than any physical activities. However, I believe that this tendency appears to be negative as it prevents children from healthy life. Many kids are addicted to playing computer games and they consider it as a source of entertainment. But this feeling of pleasure cannot be given by sport activities. Doing exercise demands more power and as a result, an individual gets tired. Apparently, it can be done for only entertaining purposes as children like to have fun more rather than to tire. In a reverse manner, video games make children to enjoy more because they include a number of activities and options. For this reason they are more popular than sports among children. In spite of making children to have fun, spreading of playing video games instead of attending to sports does not seem to be a positive improvement to me. This is because of the fact that it causes to some mental and health issues. Sitting in front of the computer motionlessly affects to the spine bone and skeletal system. As a consequence, it can be developed scoliosis. Moreover, looking at the screen without resting can contribute to worsening of the eyesight since the muscles of the eyestrain. To conclude, sport activities losing their popularity among the youth being replaced with computer games due to the point of view of entertainment. Notwithstanding, I would say that playing video games have detriments and does not make children healthy as sports do.