In some countries employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries employers are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time. Considering the need of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is no denying fact that the phenomenon of annual leave is ubiquitous across the globe due to its paramount importance. In the contemporary era, the number of paid leaves given varies according to the country’s labour law and regulations. In my opinion, two weeks time-off is a more suitable time frame for both employees and employers. To embark on, some numerous points can be interpreted. The first and the foremost one is that annual vacations are in addition to public and national holidays. On average, combining all four week public holidays and two weeks paid leaves are six weeks in total are argued to be beneficial for both the company and the workers. To top it off, festivals and celebrations are national holidays which are extensions to the allocated annual leaves. A recent research suggests that Malaysia is the highest number of public holidays in the world due to additional leaves enacted by the government for religious pilgrimages. In addition to this, a six-week holiday on the other hand, may impact productivity negatively, as it will be challenging to pick work after a stretched leave. Moreover, when employees finish certain tasks, they should be rewarded with some time-off before taking the next bucket of the workload. As a result, such arrangement gives the worker a clearer mind, renewed energy and greater concentration, which provide them assistance in making their further task congenial and effortless. To add on, problems arise when employees exercise their extensive leave rights during peak periods. Consequently, not only client deliverables have to the produce within short time interval, but the company also has to ensure sufficient headcount to carry on tasks left by staff on holiday. To recapitulate, although six weeks paid vacation is every employee’s dream, the drawbacks such as lower productivity rate and hiring of temporary workers are detrimental to employers. Hence, a three-week holiday period is a better solution for the well being of both the company and its employees.