Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for the younger generation. Why is this the case? Should we encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

Today's generation is spending most of their spare time in doing shopping and it has become one of their common hobby. This essay will examine the reasons for this situation, and in the latter half, will discuss the importance of other crucial skills that they should possess. To start with, the major reason for this situation is easy availability of disposable income in the hands of young people. Nowadays, everyone prefers to earn income at a very young age and so kids get into some part- time jobs along with their studies, which further influence them to spend this cash as they want. Moreover, attractive deals, discounts and other lavish services like cafes, restaurants, theatres, shopping malls persuade them to spend their salary on buying new stuff. For instance, college students usually prefer to meet with their friends in some shopping streets or malls where they can all services at one place. On the other hand, they should know the importance of time and get into other productive activities instead of just roaming around and spending money. Firstly, at the young age, it is imperative for them to equip themselves in various skill sets and nurture a habit of reading different books as it might help them in their future career growth. To exemplify, there are various online courses available which they can choose to enrol as per their interest and field of study. Secondly, getting involved in doing some physical exercises is also very beneficial for them to understand the importance of having good health. To conclude, children have developed a habit of spending their spare time in retail outlets, instead, they should make use of their free time getting involved in activities which can help them to grow and learn in a much better way.