Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Over the past few decades, it is noteworthy that employment options are changing in the recent years. More people are inclined to start their own business instead of serving as an employee in a firm. This essay will explain the reasons, why individuals prefer self employment and possible negative effects for this uprising phenomena. To embark on, one of the most pertinent reasons of having one's own business is to enjoy an autonomous position. One could have the flexibility, in terms of working hours and regulations, that would be rarely offered while working for an organisation. Therefore, individuals can make their own plans, business strategies and adjust working schedule that could best fit their requirements. Furthermore, people will be free to express their innovative and creative ideas without any restrictions. Otherwise, they are bound to fulfil the task assigned by the management, even though it is unacceptable for them. For instance, artists, graphic designers, writers prefer to be self employed to represent their creativity and recognition of their work. Nevertheless, unemployed or being less paid by the employer could be the reasons that provoke youngsters to have their own startup. Besides that, there are numerous demerits of running a private business. Firstly, anyone have to bear the whole financial loss personally, if any, happened due to poor planning. This could happen because most of the people could not analyse market demands due to inadequate experience. For instance, it is observed that most of the business enterprises have to wind up their firms even after few years of their startup. Moreover, flexible timing and unrestricted environment will make those individuals lazy and lethargic, who have less control over their nerves. As running a business smoothly, requires a lot of enthusiasm, devotion and hard work. Hence, it could be a hard nut for a nonchalant person. To conclude, although, it is undeniable that people prefer to choose self employment rather than following a strict rule and regulations as a subordinate besides suppressing their personal thoughts and perspectives. However, there are certain harms associated with it, that could not be overlooked.