Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether or not companies should solicit private information from candidates during the recruitment process is a contentious issue. Despite the fact that there are some valid reasons not to collect personal data, I believe that the benefits of gathering this information far outweigh the disadvantages. On the bright side, collecting more background information from potential employees allows employers to select the right candidates for the job. Companies can decide whether the candidate is a right fit from their personal data such as hobbies and interests. For instance, if there is a job which requires meeting new colleagues and travelling abroad frequently, an applicant who is interested in socializing and traveling the act of going from one place to another travelling would be deemed a better fit for the vacancy than another person who is fond of reading and listening to music. Furthermore, certain information enables employers to provide a safe working environment for all workers. To illustrate, collecting information such as previous criminal record is essential for the human resource manager to determine whether the potential employee will pose a threat to the company or not. On the flip side, some applicants may be reluctant to provide information beyond their educational background and work experience. Consequently, companies may lose some workers with great potential. Another downside is that sometimes the information provided by the candidate could be false. For example, someone who has no interest in physical activity may list soccer as their hobby for the sake of impressing the employer. Such information is useless for the company and thwarts the very purpose of collecting it. To conclude, although there are downsides to collecting personal information from job seekers, I support this practice because it enables organizations to find candidates who fit their work culture.