A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Until now there has been a serious increase in crime rates in several countries. This is one of the problems that has invited much debate over the past few years regarding the division in defence and social spending for the state budget. Some people say that one of the most important rights that must be given by the state's authority to the people is the protection and safety of citizens compared to their prosperity. In this essay, I will explain why many citizens ask for more funds for defence, and the author will also explain why the government does not need to increase spending on defence. One of the main reasons why many people are asking for more funds to be improved compared to social welfare is because citizens want to have a very strong military force in their regions. Because the stronger a state's military, then they will get respect from other countries and maybe even that country will become a leader in the region which will certainly provide a great advantage for their country. Another reason lies in the problem of terrorism; currently many countries are facing a serious threat and even experiencing terrorist attacks in big cities. Therefore, there are some who argue that increasing police force will threaten terrorist organizations, and may arrest them before the terrorists carry out attacks. However, if the government increases their expenditure on military defence, it will automatically reduce spending on social benefits that can affect people's prosperity, especially on health. Because citizens have the right to get health care, as well as the medicines they need. If the government does not provide adequate resources in health, then the poor and middle income people will find it difficult to get proper health care. If health expenses are reduced, the cost of life-saving operations and treatments will be quite expensive to cause bankruptcy. It will also affect aid for those who need it. If the government cuts assets to unemployed people, it can lead to bigger problems such as homelessness, theft and increased crime. Meanwhile, if the people who need to get adequate support such as work centres and finance, they are less likely to be a threat to other communities. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that the government is required to reduce spending on citizens' social benefits for national defence. State security is indeed an important aspect, but does not rule out sacrificing social benefits for the welfare of citizens. Hence the government must strike a balance between spending on safety and social benefits.