The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people prefer communicating through social media to meet in person. Although there are some drawbacks of using the sites, I believe that the benefits the technology have brought to our lives is undeniable. Firstly, the social networks provides us more convenience for information exchange and relationship maintenance, especially when long distance is a matter. Students studying abroad enable to keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis without paying fees. Social media is also a powerful tool in marketing and business. In this digital age, companies not only keep the clients updated regarding newly-release product, but attract the new customer by running their campaigns on several online platforms such as Instagram, Facebook. However, using the social networking sites may backfire when the number of people relying on a virtual platform excessively increases. That situation can result in a decrease in the quality of interpersonal communication in society. Young people addicted to virtual lives keep alienating themselves from their parents, from the real world. The consequences of over-reliance on social media which the adolescence will have to suffer in the future, including lack of socialising skills and losing a sense of interaction. In brief, social media do harmful things to people when it is used wrongly and uncontrollably, nevertheless, it benefits greatly in a broad way of life.