Some people think that big international sporting events are not worthwhile for the host country. Do you agree or disagree?

The different types of sports are considered as one of the best leisure activities. The topic on whether the organization of the international sporting events is beneficial for the hosting nation has always been argued. In my own perspective, I support the notion of organizing and enjoying such international events. To begin with, a large number of countries participate in several kinds of sports performed during it. In fact, this results in the inflow of thousands of tourists and sports persons which spend their currency on the food, transport, hotels, cultural monuments and museums. Hence, this generates employment and flourishes the local businesses during the hosting period, and subsequently, raises the revenue of the nation and boosts its economy. In addition to it, government spends their funds for the renovation and maintenance of the local buildings and stadiums before the inauguration ceremony, which consequently improves the aesthetic value of the city. Moreover, these competitions build a feeling of motivation among the audience to practice one of the sports as their leisure time hobby and improve the health status in the growing area of sedentary lifestyles. Furthermore, they help a nation to create an international recognition on a large scale, mainly due to media coverage before, during and even after the event through television, newspaper and social media applications by sharing the latest news and images from the tournaments. To recapitulate, I opine that the government earns more in the form of revenue and international fame in comparison to the budget used for sponsoring the events.