Nowadays, many people buy household goods (like television, rice cookers, etc). do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The advancement of the technology and modern innovations has introduced various household items which assist in the daily life related household activities. In my own perspective, these developments have made a life comfortable and convenient in the today’s world of busy schedule. On the one hand, the globalization and materialization have raised the level of expectations among the communities which make them work for longer hours in the office and hardly leaving any time for household jobs. However, the development of the modern home appliances has made the life less hectic and tiring. For instance, the kitchen products such as automatic rice cooker, microwave, and dishwasher have helped in doing a quick and instant cooking. Moreover, the strong buying capacity of the customers increases the profits of the companies and thus, helping in boosting the nation’s economy. On the other hand, the trend of sedentary lifestyle is increasing among the people due to the dependency on these appliances, which predisposes them to various health diseases such as obesity, joint and muscle problems. In fact, the usage of the air conditioners and other electrical appliances has led to excessive consumption of the electricity and has put the large burden on the environmental resources. Moreover, the products like air conditioners and refrigerators further contribute to the global warming by releasing poisonous gases in the air. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of few demerits which can be controlled by the cautious user, these technologies driven home appliances have raised the standard of living and makes the earth a better place to live.