The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Globalization has affected various sectors of our lives, including the economic sector, free movement of goods across national borders is one of the examples. Actors that support this practice argue that it might support the country’s economy to develop through simplicity in exchanging goods across the borders. On the other hand, others believe that this practice might ruin the domestic industry, which makes this issue very debatable. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of free movement of goods across national borders. Taking Indonesia as the sample, it is one of the countries that enact the free movement of goods. The government believes that this practice might provide benefits to its economy. It increases the export rate and the GDP because it will be easier to expand its marketing of goods and services to other countries and the trade barriers or tariffs will decrease or even vanish. The government also claims that it can decrease the unemployment rate because lots of jobs will be produced. Moreover, lots of investors will be more likely to come and invest in, therefore it will cause a beneficial impact on Indonesia’s infrastructure. Furthermore, with the tight competition that exist because of free flow, it can also stimulate the entrepreneurs and the local the industries to compete and increase their skills, competencies, and standard which results in the betterment quality of Indonesian products. On the other hand, some people against the free movement of goods across national borders. Instead of increasing the export sector, they argue that the trade balance deficit can occur because several Indonesian products cannot fulfil the standard of the international market, like the Indonesia and EU palm oil cases. Observing the nature of Indonesian where most of them feel more proud in consuming the foreign product, the import rate will increase and the inability to compete can cause harm to local industries. In addition, the existence of foreign investors and the job fields, it promised will not be maximized, many foreign workers will flood due to competition in the quality of human resources. Local workers will be increasingly marginalized if they cannot compete. Moreover, a possibility of the massive exploitation of natural resources might trigger Indonesian environmental degradation. In my opinion, globalization is something that we cannot prevent, because whether like it or not it will keep happening, the same thing goes to the free movements of goods, it is something that sooner or later will be experienced. I believe that free movement of goods shall offer lots of benefits if both the government the citizen work together to execute it well. Therefore, instead of opposing and constantly seeing from the negative point of view, it will be wiser to prepare ourselves, thus we can be ready to compete with the foreign actors. In conclusion, the free movement of goods across national borders brings both advantages and disadvantages depending on how the people perceive it and react to it. Indeed, it promises economic growth of the country, however, with wrongful execution, it might also destroy the domestic industry.