Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Cleanliness is becoming a major cause of concern in numerous cities around the globe. At the viewpoint, of some people, it is the government's responsibility to maintain tidy streets, while others are of the view that the residents of the area have an obligation to maintain the cleanliness in the region. In my opinion, keeping the roads, neat and tidy is a shared objective, which can only be achieved through the combined efforts of the citizens and the authorities. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument, while providing a logical conclusion. On one hand, the number of individuals advocate the thought, that it is the corporation's job to keep the roadways and cities spotless, due to the fact that the nationals pay taxes to the government. The country later, is in charge of using these revenue funds for the development of the infrastructure facilities, such as construction of roads and schools, availability of public transportation as well as the maintenance of sanitation and hygiene. Hence, it can be said that it is the duty of local officials to make sure the roadways are well-kept. Provided that, they should hire professionals to perform these tasks. To cite an example, the civil bodies can employ garbage collectors as well as sweepers to keep the roads and zones speckles. On the other hand, opponents of the above idea, imply that cleanliness is a divided function, which cannot be fulfilled without the co-operation from the public. The state can remain hygienic, only when humans play their part, by dumping garbage at designated places, not littering and cleaning up after themselves in the public place. No amount of efforts of the authorities, alone can improve the situation, which makes it necessary for the residents to play their role. To illustrate it, if the inhabitants of a particular place, dump trash, anywhere they like, it is unlikely that the state will succeed, in keeping the lanes squeaky. To conclude, even though it is the nation's duty to provide basic facilities to the populace, the human civilisation plays the key role in retaining the sanitation. In my view, when both the parties fulfil their duties, only then the aim can be met.