A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that to ensure the safety of the citizens, it is important to put more attention on the defence system and less on social benefits. Defence means protection from physical/military attacks and terror. It might be relevant to call defence as the determining power back to the imperialism where war is really popular. On the other hand, the circumstances of the current world are changing. States have to pursue mutually beneficial activities such as trade or environmental protection in order to survive. Because of that, talking about the protection of the citizens, it is not enough to only concern about physical attack, however, other sectors have to be taken into account as well. Social benefits are as significant as security, it covers protection in the economic and social sectors, which now become one of the determining power. With that being said, this paper aims to prove that the government has to ensure the citizens’ protection, by balancing the defence and social benefits, without disregarding any of them. The existence of a security issue or conflict in a country becomes one of the reasons why people believe that defence is really important. The condition in the Middle-East for example, during a conflict time, the state has to have a good defence system in order to protect its citizens and maintain state stability. It is because a state with a strong defence system is usually being more respected, and most likely to win the war. However, the fact shows that the conflict is mostly triggered by the increase of the defence system itself. War in Iran for example, one of the reasons the United States interferes in the Middle-East conflict is due to the fact that Iran keeps increasing its defence system and not to mention its nuclear weapons. The behaviour of a state that keeps increasing their defence system is potentially aggravating the conditions because it might increase the scepticism among state which lead to a conflict. At some point, it is definitely necessary to prevent the possibility of attack from other countries, yet it might also trigger the attack if the attempt is exaggerated. However, the circumstances were changed. Resulting in the shift of power, where defence is no longer an absolute determining power, there are other sectors such as economic, social-politic that are also important. Therefore, social benefits also occupy a significant role. Social benefits support the economic development and social order such as promotions of the workers, creation of training and employment opportunities, the degradation of the rate of unemployment, and so on. It is important to put attention to this sector due to several reasons. First, social benefits might create some sort of condition where the citizens will most likely be able to obtain a decent life due to the creation of training and employment opportunities. These skills can become their provisions to survive, protect themselves, and compete with others during this globalization era. Second, if the citizens obtain a decent life, they will not question the government's decision because they feel satisfied. This condition will maintain the state stability. If a particular state is stable, the citizens will most likely safe because there is less possibility of conflict to occur. These arguments are supported by the fact that most of the developed country actually has a balance system in every sector such as economy, defence, and politics. For example, European countries, the USA, and so on. The world sometimes assumes that the USA becomes hegemony because it obtains an excellent defence system, however, that is not the fact, USA hegemony happened because the USA succeed to balance its defence, economy, social benefits, and social-political system. Security or defence is no longer an absolute power to determine the world order. A good defence system without a good system in other sectors such as economy, politics, or the environment is not making the citizens safe. With the complexity of the world, where economic, social-politic, and environment are also important, it is necessary to put concern on social benefit as well. Therefore, the author believes that the government has to ensure the citizens’ protection, by balancing the defence and social benefits, without disregarding any of them.