Many students are now refusing to choose science subjects at their university level. Why do you think this is happening and what is the impact on the community?

Nowadays, many individuals are declining to study science -related courses in college. This essay will discuss the reasons for this situation and also highlight the consequence of this problem in the society. One reason why many young people today would rather study other courses than science courses is because of the abstractness. Most topics in these subjects cannot be experienced by the learner. For instance, until I started my postgraduate study, I only learnt about the Polymerase Chain Reaction technique theoretically, but never used it. Hence, I only wrote what I was being taught, but never knew what it really felt like to use this technique to do research. As a result, I could not relate to most of the scientific articles I read at that time. In addition, another reason why most college goers today are refusing to study science subjects is due to the salary range of other fields. In the world today, footballers and CEOs of multi-million companies earn more than scientists. In fact, most scientists live from hand to mouth. A typical example is Brian Cornell, one of the top physicist in the world, who had to seek for funds, due to lack of money, from the public when he was to undergo a major surgery. Therefore, it is understandable that the younger generation does not want to ply this route. This situation has numerous adverse effects on the society, but this essay will discuss the main consequence. One fundamental consequence of this issue is the lack of science professionals. In the nearest future, there will be a sharp decline in number of experienced professionals in the field of technology, which is quite unfortunate because more than ever, we need experts in these fields. To illustrate, the virus pandemic, which has plagued the world for over eight months now might be coming to an end because of the dedication of biologists around the world who have worked tirelessly to create a cure. Without the work and dedication of these people, we face, not only mass infection and death, but economic recession and poverty. In conclusion, many college youths are declining to take science courses. This essay discussed the reasons for this situation and the effect this has on the community.