Small Businesses Should Avoid Recruiting Young Women Who Do Not Have Their Own Family In Order To Avoid Paying Maternity Leave. To what extend do you agree or disagree

One of the controversial issues today relates to whether should micro-enterprise hires unmarried female candidates or not, so to prevent from paying the pregnancy leave. I totally disagree with this statement even though there are some clear drawbacks of hiring unmarried female workers. On the one hand, there are several disadvantages associated with accepting unmarried female candidates to the company. One of the main reasons is that the small business may be confronted with the loss of revenue and drop in efficiency. For an instance, when female workers who are on their maternity leave for a long period of time, not only does the company has to pay the employees but also facing with lesser workforce which could adversely affect the business. This consequently is a cause for concern, especially for small enterprises because they rely on their workers to bring in profit. On the other hand, the idea of rejecting female candidates who have yet to give birth are absolute preposterous and unethical because all women deserve the same amount of opportunity to pursue their desire career. Moreover, it is a form of discrimination to not hire them based on the fact that they are young. All candidates should stand an equal chance regardless of race, age, religion and marital status. If this remains unsolved, the division of inequality may be created in the society. One last reason to hire them is that these young women are often fresh graduate who are energetic and enthusiastic which can be a valuable asset to the company. They are also cheaper to employ as compared to a more experience and older candidate. Therefore, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support. To sum up, this essay argues that company which avoid employing unmarried females have a flawed understanding and underestimates the benefits they can bring to the company despite the disadvantages associated with it.