Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Purchasing of cars has been immensely grown in recent years due to which, the world has accumulated a large number of vehicles in different cities around the globe. Therefore, ministry should take initiatives to aware people of this increasing problem. The state should regulate the movement of vehicles during the peak hours in an area. For instance, in my city the increasing number of automobiles can be seen before 10am and after 2:00 pm because of the office and school hours. As a result, the roads become overcrowded. Ministry authorities should make a plan to reduce or control the flow of vehicles in these rush hours. Furthermore, various parking areas should be developed in cities. Due to non-availability of parking spots, a number of vehicles can be seen in the middle of the roads. Consequently, it leads to traffic jam. Parking lots should be made outside the busy areas like restaurants, schools, cinemas etc. Moreover, giving awareness to citizens is highly important. Various campaigns about the use of public automobiles should be held, the public should be encouraged to use, the local transport by making it available for all classes of citizens. However, it is only possible through making the tickets affordable for citizens. If the fares are cheap and reliable people can easily afford them. I believe, it is the responsibility of citizens as well as the authority to look after the cities. The state should run various campaigns to encourage the public. As well as, strict laws should be made to control this growing transportation issue. Citizens should abide by the rules made by the authority to overcome such a huge issue.