Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

It is true that these days an increasingly large volume of tourists is heading towards tough destinations such as the Sahara desert, the Antarctica, the Artic and others. In my opinion, while this offers an enhanced exposure to life and thrill, it also poses a threat to heart. First, trips to unusual locations gives the necessary break from a monotonous work activity boosting the confidence of travellers. People keep visiting the popular destinations which become boring after some time. For example, last year I visited Kedarnath, which is extremely difficult to reach, yet It provided the much needed change from my routine journeys. Second, reaching terrains with adverse conditions gives an adrenaline rush and thrill to the adventure seekers. Some people are daring and ever seeking new challenges in tourism. Additionally, people have enhanced exposure and experiences. For instance, the number of the visitors is increasing in the Sahara or Mount Everest for tracking in extreme conditions. People are not hesitating to spend money for extreme tours. However, going to difficult spots can pose a risk and threat to heart since conditions there are not favourable for a comfortable stay. Temperatures are extreme and food is often scarce. Besides, people may not be trained and acclimatized to these places. For example, Aron Ralston has to cut his own arm because his one arm tucked into a rock till 127 hours, while he was solo travelling in the Canyonland. To conclude, while it is observed that there is a growing number of people heading to tough destinations like the Sahara or the Antarctica, I believe that it gives travellers the benefits of greater exposure and thrill. Nevertheless, the disadvantage is that they face a threat to life.