Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

These days, production of materials and goods can reach unbelievable heights, in almost every country. With so many people on the surface of our planet, there is a constant need for food and clothing supplies. I totally disagree with those who are asking for even more, as there is a fine line, between the essentials and needs. Firstly, it has to be mentioned, that nowadays humans constantly like to exaggerate in every aspect of life. For instance, in these present days, no adult, or child is owning only one pair of shoes, like they used to do it in the past. The reason for this, is as simple as the ABC, because there is a so high demand. When a big shoe company or a famous telephone firm, releases a new product, there is a certainty of a long queue on that date. Another reason why I disagree with this idea, is because of this incredibly high demand, the prices are always rising. Looking at mobile phones for example the other day and I was astonished by the fact that many people are purchasing them for over a thousand pounds. These objects are not even essential tools for surviving, but yet it is on the top of the shopping list, in every person’s life. On the other hand, it also has a positive side, as with spectacular interest, companies need to improvise and come up with updates, new designs, original flavours, in order for the organization to survive. In my opinion, it raises a competitiveness between these associations, which means a better accommodation of budget, design and quality for everyone. In conclusion, humankind should be thankful for what they have, as many still live in third world places, with not enough food and clothes, let alone the electronic equipment which most of us possess. Most of them did not even hear about cell phones and play stations and they show us each day, that it is not a must.