In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In the contemporary times, having a home of your own is seen as a status symbol. Having a home of their own is on the top of the list of almost all individuals. This in turn requires more space to be allotted in order to build new homes for everyone. But, since land is a scarce resource we have to make do with what we have. There has been an increasing trend where the agricultural land is being converted in such a way so as to accommodate for new homes in an attempt to meet the ever increasing demands. According to some this is an atrocious attempt to satisfy such demands. It goes without saying that the countryside is home to not only the trees, but also the wildlife creatures that dwell in such an environment and building new homes in such locations would mean getting rid of the trees. Moreover, it will also put various wildlife animals at the risk of extinction. Furthermore, building houses in the countryside would mean less space will be available for agricultural activities which inevitably would hinder the food production. This in turn will result in a shortage of food supply to meet the demands of the people, thus resulting in worse conditions than at the present. Because such a shortage would mean importing food supply from other regions of the world which most people will not be able to afford due to increased costs. Therefore, in my opinion the countryside should remain untouched and other means of accommodating the rising demands be adopted. A shortage of land for building new homes is bearable, but a shortage of food, a basic necessity, is unfathomable.