In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parent's home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is quite common today that youngsters start living independently from their parent's after graduating from school. Despite some drawbacks I feel this trend is beneficial both for children and their parents. On the one hand, it might be said that if elderly people contending with their health issues were left alone, there would be no one to care for them. This means that, these people would be obliged to handle all the household chores by themselves, which would further exacerbate their health, and thus reduce their longevity. It is not only parent's, however, who would suffer, children themselves might also experience numerous difficulties when commencing an independent life. After all, not all children are self-sufficient and able to take care of themselves, meaning that would likely be unable to deal with even simple daily tasks, such as shopping or cooking without their parents' intervention. Paradoxically, however, it is these challenges that contribute to young people's growth as self-reliant individuals. Forced to cope with the problems of life without parental support they can improve their problem-solving skills and lateral thinking, which can highly reward them in their careers later on. Moreover, when children forsake their parents' the latter usually have more time to enjoy themselves. For instance, rather than spending extra hours at work to earn sufficient money to cater for their for their children's needs, they might take a holiday and relax or entertain themselves. This would unequivocally augment their quality of life, which can, in turn, improve their health levels. In conclusion, it is my feeling that if children abandon their parents' home, both generations will benefit. Of course, this is provided that the parent's are healthy and the children are able to care for themselves.