Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the endless rhythm of ordinary sentiment, people struggle miserably to pick a design for newly built houses. While some, blue and gloomy, persevere with the tasteless, dull tones of old, one-time houses, which seems beneficial to the historical appearance of local areas, it is more justifiable that others, more sophisticated, reject the monotonous everyday living space and wholeheartedly pursue their own design style. On the one hand, a row of unnoticeable houses symbolizes stagnation, stalemate and stand still. Although it is likely that framing dwelling spaces in the traditional designs contributes to the endless success of history, people neglect that they themselves will be assimilated by such tasteless, flavourless spaces. In addition, the creativity of citizens of former times that used to be passionate now completely evaporates. Finally, it is the conservatives who fall into the existential trap of an illogical life that the philosopher Camus summed up. On the other hand, dreamers craving for liberty in designing their own homes are eligible for acquiring better lives. Although romantic ambitions always wither away like flowers do, freedom in architectural styles can touch men’s innermost heart. This enables citizens to have prominent apartments, and therefore could spare me of their banality. In other words, living in such romantic, engaging apartments and indulging themselves in distant dreams, people become romantic and sentimental, thereby gaining a life full of meat and wine. In my opinion, a living space for distant fantasy is enough for people to fill up their own memories and ambitions. In conclusion, since people will probably be fatigued of pursuing traditional styles for their home, and finally abandon cumbersome dreams of conserving local history, I believe that freedom, especially in building one’s own shelter is a pure life’s pleasure.