In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed? Do you agree or disagree?

Schools and universities are a place students go to acquire knowledge and mould their future. It is absurd to see how some schools and universities have designated a subject like English for girls, because society has made us believe that they are to stay at home and take care of their family. On the contrary, "hard" subject like physics and chemistry are to be chosen by boys, as they are supposed to work and also financially support their family. I completely agree that this mindset should be changed that, only boys are the bread earners of the family. This essay shows many social and economic benefits on how girls can choose subjects of their choice. Firstly, students should be allowed to choose whatever subject they have an interest in. They shouldn't choose subjects on the basis of what the society says. Moreover, there are many boys who have an interest towards teaching or becoming a chef. Subjects like Arts and Humanities can help them pursue their interest. Similarly, girls can choose subjects like accounts and science, who have are inclined towards professions like Doctor and Chartered Accountant. Secondly, when girls and boys choose subjects of their liking, it will help them excel and earn more for their family. Furthermore, can contribute towards the welfare of the country and uplift the economy. To conclude, students go to university and school to learn and grow as a person. If the institution can't change their mindset on keeping subject like physics exclusively for boys and not girls. Then are students actually learning anything from their educators?