Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

A house or an apartment? Which is a better choice is a debatable question that most people face, when selecting their residence. While both of these accommodations have their pros and cons, it depends on a person's circumstances as to which would benefit him more. This essay will look at the upsides and downsides of both the above places of residence. On one hand, living in flats is cheaper and it offers more safety and security. For instance, the Flats are less expensive than the homes and with only a balcony, there are no expenses of maintaining a garden, raking the leaves or shovelling the snow. Moreover, most buildings today have on site security guards, CCTV cameras and are also equipped with Buzzer calling systems, which ensure that no strangers enter the building. Along with this, the neighbours in such settings, know each other fairly well and hence, often keep an eye on each others' places and are always available to help. To cite an example, my neighbours take care of my suite when, I am out of town for professional or personal reasons. The drawback of residing in the flats is the lack of space and peace. To illustrate it, flats are often smaller and have limited parking spaces, compared to houses. Also, if the residents are noisy and bothersome, it would be extremely annoying and can disrupt your sleep schedule. On the other hand, houses are extremely private as well as having backyards and gardens. As most of the houses are detached, ideally there is more privacy and serenity as loud neighbours would not be a trouble anymore. Additionally, most of them have open space which can be utilised to grow own produce, to pursue outdoor activities as well as allowing children to play in the open air. However, homes are expensive and offer less security. A tiny one today costs around 5 million, which is why the majority of the population chooses not to buy it. Plus, there are no appointed guards to protect the homes, which makes them an easier target for criminals. To conclude, it is evident that they are equal number of pros and cons for both types of residences.Provided that, it can be said that the better choice ultimately depends on a person's financial status and need and the advantages of living in the house do not outweigh the advantages of living in apartments.