Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

An impact of advertisements on our purchase decisions is a topic of public discussion. While some part of society claims that they persuading us to obtain unnecessary items, others think that they introduce products which might enhance our lives. This essay agrees that advertising persuades us to buy irrelevant products as that is their purpose and it influences people to purchase more than they should. Firstly, the most important goal of any advertisement is to sell a product. It does not take into consideration whether this item is useful, practical or not. In addition to that, even if this particular thing does not improve our life, the presentation of it will tell otherwise. For example, the are a lot of announcements which advertise a selfie-stick as something almost inevitable, when the truth is, that it has very little impact on our every - day life. Therefore, individuals should be careful and sceptical about advertisement's content. Secondly, every announcement, whose purpose is to advertise, creates a better image of that item than it is in reality. Due to this improved image, people make their purchase decisions, forgetting at the same time, that they have already bought this product in the past. They simply cannot stop themselves before buying it. For example, clothes are being advertised so well, individuals obtain it excessively disregarding that they posses an enormous amount of them. In conclusion, advertisements influence the society to obtain irrelevant products as they create an idealised image of it and sometimes they distort the truth about it.