Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives. Other think they should switch jobs at least once during their career. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

There are many arguments about which option is good for the employee to take, either to be stable in the same job for the remainder of their working lives, or else to change their careers from time to time. In my opinion, the changing a career -option can often have a beneficial impact for the candidates, as it gives a good opportunity to gain new skill-sets while also achieving a new career -direction, and for which someone has perhaps been striving for a long time to achieve. In this essay, I will discuss both points of views and explain my opinion. Firstly, having only one career definitely has its merits. The advantage of having ‘a-job-for-life’ is that an employee could perhaps find it easier to achieve the highest-point in his/her career and also acquire great experience, so then, his/her society gains an expert specifically, for such a designated profession. Those experts, who have acquired such in-depth knowledge and experience are usually considered status-wise, as being equated to the highest levels of expertise and are often given senior-research-posts for improving the knowledge or efficacy of whatever community and/or the profession, in which they serve. For instance, Dr. Magdi Yaqoob, is the one of the most-renowned heart surgeons, anywhere in the world. He started his work in the medical field, and still practicing in the same career. This gave him a vast opportunity to study cardiology in-depth and become an expert in his field. Additionally, it helps the community to gain an experienced and expert cardiologist, as well as to teach a new generation of heart-surgeons. Alternatively, sometimes, changing professions is very important for other reasons too, as it gives a chance for other people to learn another vocation with new skills, while simultaneously, acquainting themselves with new colleagues and the workplace as well. The contemporary 21st century workplace now offers a variety of new careers-prospects and positions, which had previously not been thought as being conceivable. Those new and potential career opportunities may probably attract candidates to join new professions, even perhaps through using E-search-systems or similar ones, yet to be invented or devised for filling such job-openings. This switch is helping a lot of people to change their lives and lifestyles, by getting a newer and more interesting job as well. In conclusion, having a job for the rest of the life has its benefits for getting a higher-level, better-calibre, well-educated and expert candidates in their specialist fields. Unquestionably, in some professions, the employees should stay in it for the whole of their working-lives, in order to achieve the zenith of their careers’ potential, such as doctors, architects and engineers. However, changing career -pathways are also helping employees to learn new skills and open their minds to a new and potentially more sides of their working-landscapes, to explore and exploit. This also motivates employees and stimulates greater interest in their career -choices and towards achieving a successful and more enjoyable life for themselves and their families