Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products?” Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

This is a true fact to consider that over packaging has become a trend of the modern competitive market. Considering this, there are some analysts who hold an opinion that consumers should avoid over packed products while others consider consumers should not avoid over packed products. This essay will give the assertion on both sides of the contention before deducing a reasonable conclusion. There are reasonable arguments in favour of over packaging from the manufacturer. They try to make products as lucrative looking as possible. Consumers have a number of alternative options in the market, but some of them concern style or looks of the packaging while deciding to buy a product. Attractive packaging could be a significant factor for selling more. It is generally seen that product producers try to attract their customers in many ways by over packaging. For example, in the case of some biscuit packs, we can see that the biscuits are placed in the small plastic tray and covered with multiple layers of packets. In terms of keeping these sorts of products intact and fresh, it is sometimes necessary to use over packing. In these cases, the manufacturer would show reasons that they are over packing products for the sake of customers’ benefit. From this regards, it seems logical that the customer should make an informed decision whether or not to buy products that use over packing. In spite of the views discussed above regarding of over packaging, there are some groups who are in favour of avoiding over packed products and say that the manufacturers are deceiving customers by over packing their products. The cost of packaging and their detrimental effects on our environment could be substantial reasons behind of the opponents’ viewpoint. All the packaging costs are directly being added to the consumers and they have to spend more than the value of products. A few real products are often presented in a large container and packet and the customers are being deceived by the packet sized. Moreover, the manufacturers often use non-disposable wrappers and packets which add bad effects to the environment. In the end, undoubtedly, extra packaging of products has a detrimental effect on the society; however, as far as I am concerned consumers should avoid over-packaging products to solve the negative effects it possessed to them and to the environment. If customers start avoiding such unnecessary over packing of products, manufacturers would be bound to change the way they are doing the packing nowadays.