Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

This is a fact that the contemporary era of digitization coerces the young generation towards the virtual world of games and they are prone to forget traditional sports. There are several reasons for such a situation and few visible influences too. Both the aspects will be explained in ensuring paragraphs. Examining the reasons, the foremost one is the introduction of the latest gadgets. This is because of the attractive nature of applications, which do not allow the youngster to perform any other task. By this is mean that children are binge on the technologies, and rarely get a chance to play around with their friends. The series of game play are so engaging that make kids to adhere to it and they tried to complete the game as much as possible. For example, a recently launched game PUBG, in this game a person has its own personal character and he or she has to play this game with acquaint that may be anonymous or not. This game is so much appealing that a person can play it for the whole day. Furthermore, another cause is socialization. Many of the youth is using these technologies and everyone have accounts on social networks like, Facebook, Instagram, twitter and WhatsApp. Each individual is showcasing itself on these social media, and if anyone is absent from these networks, they can become a victim of stigma like old fashioned. Hence, new era demands to use these gadgets and young generation are unable to get ample time to spare on physical sports. The mention reasons have certain negative impacts too. Firstly, because of the enough time consumption in playing virtual games, students rarely get a chance to study and complete their homework. Moreover, this may lead to absenteeism from school. For example, these game ’s addiction makes the student to get up all the night and ruined their precious time of sleeping while playing worthless games. The other repercussion is detrimental health effects. These digital sports are also harmful to children's health as it may lead to sedentary life style. For instance, a kid while playing an arcade game, needs to sit for many hours to complete different levels. This will lead to obesity and complications in later life. Overall, these applications may have enormous negative consequences over children’s life. Thus, to conclude the topic, it can be commented that in recent time, children are more inclined towards virtual games instead of playing physical sports. This may be due to addiction for latest gadgets and socialization. However, this attraction may have certain drawbacks like health problems and absenteeism. Hence, There should be a balance in physical workout and playing video games.