Some people do not allow their children to participate in games, sports or competitions unless everyone gets a prize. Others think that children must learn to deal with winning and losing in order to be fully prepared in life. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge.

At present, some parents would initially not permit their children to join any games, sports or competitions unless everyone gets awarded. However, certain adults think that letting children experience the feeling of both winning and losing teaches them to be resilient which will set them up for success in life. To begin with, some parents believe that to be able to shield their children from disappointment and stress, they should receive medals every time they participate in certain activities. In addition, their argument implies that with this method, youngsters will gain more self-esteem and will find themselves signing-up for more gaming and sporting events. Moreover, being the best in competitive sports will make feel proud of themselves for they know they are recognized for being good at something. However, a few people also suggest that a little healthy competition will be good for kids. Setting up wins and losses will show young kids important life skills that will guide them into adulthood. Furthermore, losing in competitive situations will help children to better themselves and learn the value of hard work. As a result, parents and teachers trust that losing is beneficial because they are learning from the ordeal. To conclude, when done right, competition can help youth learn skills that they can use throughout their lives. Also, not all the good things are just handed out easily in life, especially when they grow up to be adults. To sum up, they will learn that failure is not the end of the world, but then an opportunity for them to try again.