Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, traffic density and air quality have considered the most concerning issues because it affects the quality of the modern life. Some people think that increasing the fuel price may mitigate the problems, while the others are opponents to this opinion. I disagree with the first opinion because increasing fuel price may provide further financial problems. Both views with my opinion will be illustrated in the following lines. On the one hand, some individuals believe that the higher price of fuel is the direct solution. In other words, they think that if the fuel price increased, employees would not use their private cars and this might reduce the travel congestion and air pollutants. For example, some employees in Egypt, as a developing country, cannot afford further increment in the mentioned prices; therefore they might use the public transport as a replacement. Accordingly, the daily amount of private cars' will decrease which can solve both traffic and pollution issues. On the other hand, some individuals believe that the above-mentioned solution may create more troubles because the shipment cost of goods is directly related to petrol cost. To explain, if the authorities decided to raise fuel prices, shipment companies would raise the transportation fees. This could be exemplified by the huge increment in diesel worth in Egypt, which happened a few years ago and resulted in an unexpected increase in the other goods' prices. Therefore, the change in price is not the effective way to solve the mentioned problem if the authorities are concerned about its side effects. In conclusion, while some people see that fuel products' prices increase can solve both environmental and movement problems, others are opponents to them. I agree with the later opinion to avoid the related increase in transportation costs. In addition, it could be suggested that awareness campaigns may clarify to the individuals the demerits of using their personal cars in daily trips. On the other hand, they can show the participants how it is useful if they try car sharing and/or using public transport in the work trips.