Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

Many people believe that raising fuel prices will reduce traffic jams and pollution. I do not completely agree with it because a lot of other factors play major roles in reducing the congestion and air pollution, such as the use public transportation and purchasing eco-friendly vehicles. Also, people should play their role as role-model citizens and save their environment. First of all, increasing in petrol prices only will not reduce the traffic since people will rely on their personal cars for the daily movement. For example, the Lebanese people will use their vehicles, regardless of the fuel prices since no other alternatives are available. The government should have a plan to expand or build public transportation from railways to buses and connect the major and rural cities together and offers discounted prices for monthly or yearly subscriptions. Additionally, a law must be set by the parliament to exempt environment friendly cars such electric or low fuel consuming vehicles from any tax to encourage people to buy them. However, people should meet their authorities midway in saving the environment by carpooling act in accordance with someone's rules, commands, or wishes complying with their neighbours or colleagues. This will reduce the number of cars entering the cities and will free a lot of car parks which can be used to plant trees who play an important role in reducing the carbon dioxide in the air. In conclusion, the transport congestion and environmental problems can be resolved by boosting up the petrol prices, but this not enough without introducing other measures. Citizens and government must work together to resolve this problem.