Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

Many people believe that raising fuel prices will reduce traffic jams and pollution. I do not completely agree with because a lot of other factors play major roles in reducing the congestion and air pollution, such as the use public transportation and the purchase of eco-friendly vehicles. Also, people should play their role as role-model citizens and save their environment. First of all, increasing in petrol prices only will not reduce the traffic since a lot of people rely on their personal cars for their daily movements. A statistic done a couple of years ago that more than 400000 vehicles enter Beirut daily in the absence of public transportation, even though the price of galloon was at some point in time around 1/10 of the minimum salary wage. In conclusion, fuel prices are not a barrier for the Lebanese to stop using their private cars daily in the absence of a reliable alternative. The government should have a plan to expand or build public transportation from railways to buses and connect the major and rural cities together and offers discounted prices for monthly or yearly subscriptions. Additionally, a law must be set by the parliament to exempt environment friendly cars such electric or low fuel consumption vehicles from any tax to encourage people to buy them. However, people should meet their authorities midway in saving the environment by car pooling with their neighbours or colleagues. This way will reduce the number of cars entering the cities and will free a lot of car parks which can be used to plant trees who play an important role in reducing the carbon dioxide in the air. In conclusion, the transport congestion and environmental problems can be resolved by boosting up the petrol prices, but this not enough without introducing other measures. Citizens and government must work together to resolve this problem.