The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments currently do not only allocate their budget to public services such as health care services and education, but also to some programmes like space exploration. However, I agree with the idea that government spending would be better spent on public services rather than space projects. Spending on space programmes are not prioritised and severely criticised due to its costs and its practical issues. The expenditure on exploring space is a waste of money, which is estimated up to hundreds of billions every decade to explore the universe, while home planet is marred by war, famine and poverty; billions of people are struggling simply to live from day to day. In addition, there have been no direct benefits from space travel; an exploration of a new planet seems irrelevant to ordinary life. While scientists are probing Mars for life, the Earth itself is not fully explored yet. Therefore, it is unrealistic to invest lots of money in an unknown planet which we have not even known the existence of life. For those reasons above, I believe that the resources and efforts focused on space exploration could better humanity as the needs of humanity is the number one priority. It is worth investing in education and health services as they will pay off in the long term and be more practical; most people get benefits from accessing a better educational and health system. The younger generations who will have a chance to study at schools are fully equipped with a delivery of outstanding teaching methods, and will get more opportunities to achieve better possibilities in career and personal growth. An investment in research and development of pharmaceutical and related segments can help more people to access a better health system for free or at lower cost with modern treatment methods. In conclusion, governments should spend on public services instead of space projects as the benefits are brought forwards to all members in the society. 5/27 The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?