Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes?.

In this day and age, concerns are high about an accelerating rate of international tourist arrivals which has negative effects on many countries. This essay will analyse the origin of this phenomenon and will provide certain solutions to tackle this problem. There are two significant reasons why many people think that international tourism is a bad thing. To commence with, a fundamental reason for this is that it has negative influences on the environment of the host country. The waste disposal and pollution from foreign tourists are the main factors that damage the air, soil and water condition of the host. For example, Do Son beach in Vietnam became full of garbage after the foreign tourists leave. Secondly, foreigners usually do not understand and respect the traditions and customs of the host country so they might have inappropriate behaviours. This may lead to conflicts of culture. For example, many foreigners wear short skirts when visiting pagodas and temples in Vietnam, which is so unacceptable that it might make bad images of the foreigners to the locals. However, some measures could be implemented to change the negative attitude of the local people about international tourism. The first solution is that the authorities and the government should have policies to limit the amount of garbage coming from the foreigners. For instance, the campaigns of collecting rubbish on the beach should be held with the participation of foreign visitors. Similarly, international tourists must be provided information about the traditions and customs of their destination through travel brochure to help them understand and have the right attitude. In conclusion, the inhospitable feeling that the local people have for international tourists can be explained in many ways. However, in my opinion, the government’s involvement is essential to reduce the amount of waste generated by international travellers and raising awareness among tourists in order to protect local habitats.