Success is often measured in terms of how much money somebody has earned. Do you think wealth .is a good measure of success? How else could we measure whether somebody is successful or not?

Some believe that affording not only necessities but also luxuries such as vacations, expensive cars, and a large house is the pinnacle of success. However, in the opinion of others, including myself, success cannot be measured by your pay check or possessions. In this essay, I will explain my viewpoint and discuss to whom we should call successful. A large number of people consider the financial status of a person to determine whether he is successful. I do not agree with this approach. In my point of view, wealth could be an indicator of a person’s success, but it is not the only factor to consider. For example, we can look at the stories of people like Mahatma Gandhi, who didn’t possess any money or assets and yet were very successful as a leader and led a very meaningful life. On the other hand, we have people like Warren Buffett, who donated all his income to charity; he is very successful in motivating a large section of people with his philanthropic ways. However, contrary to the belief that success is determined by income, others, including myself, believe that it can be measured by the contribution we make to our community. One who makes an impact on the world- whether on a small scale or a large scale- is, in my opinion, successful. For example, a volunteer who works with the homeless, or with disadvantaged children or refugees, is positively impacting the lives of others. Furthermore, a teacher who makes a lifelong impact on the minds, attitudes, and futures of his or her students is an achievement regardless of the salary they earn. In conclusion, we have legends like Gandhi and Warren Buffett to prove that wealth is not the only measure of success. In my point of view, the most significant measure of a person’s success is his ability to make a positive difference in the lives of others.