The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people think that online conversations have largely supplanted face-to-face meetings, leading to worsening communication skills. I fully agree with this point of view, though I concede social media makes a significant contribution to daily life. The most important benefit is that the social network is extremely convenient for information exchange and relationship maintenance regardless of a long distance. It is necessary for members of families who are apart because of working or studying abroad and for companies that do business internationally. In such cases, face-to-face conversations are unlikely carried on very often and are replaced by online exchanges via video callings or other instant messaging platforms, so the constraints of geographical distance would be eliminated. For example, Vietnamese who are working in Korea can keep contact with their family via social networking sites such as Facebook, which helps them to ease their homesickness; therefore, they can focus on their work better. However, it should not ignore the negative impacts of the excessive reliance on social media in communication. Firstly, many people are more familiar with share their feelings and thoughts with virtual friends than family members or real friends. By doing so, they are alienating themselves from their family or social groups, losing the sense of community. Second, spending too much time using social networks may lead to health problems for users. When people keep their eyes glued to phone screens for hours, their eyes may harm seriously; for example, blue light and flickering image can strain their eyes and cause dry eyes. Additionally, waves of these devices also tend to cause headaches if used for too long. In conclusion, social media brought people from over the world closer together. However, I believe that the disadvantages are stronger than the advantages if we are over-reliant on this way of communication.